ACG Parnell College
Composite · Private : Fully Registered
- Year levels
- not reported
- Total roll
- 1,963
- Enrolment zone
- No
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 39 George Street, Parnell, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Waitematā Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-3081666
- parnellcollege@acgedu.com
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- In their words
- The values of ACG Schools are underpinned by a commitment to see our students succeed in every facet of their lives.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
At ACG Schools, we understand that personal wellbeing is essential for academic and personal achievement, especially when studying in a new country. That’s why we do everything we can to support and care for our international students while they study with us.
- Accepted, as stated
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 250
- Māori
- 4
- Pacific
- 8
- Asian
- 1,747
- MELAA
- 14
- Other
- 21
- International
- 140
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 01 | 0 | 0 | 40 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 1 | 45 |
| Year 02 | 0 | 0 | 38 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 3 | 45 |
| Year 03 | 0 | 0 | 37 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 40 |
| Year 04 | 0 | 0 | 63 | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 69 |
| Year 05 | 0 | 1 | 45 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 49 |
| Year 06 | 0 | 0 | 71 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 4 | 78 |
| Year 07 | 2 | 2 | 154 | 3 | 4 | 17 | 4 | 177 |
| Year 08 | 0 | 0 | 202 | 1 | 3 | 23 | 8 | 229 |
| Year 09 | 1 | 0 | 206 | 1 | 0 | 26 | 5 | 231 |
| Year 10 | 1 | 1 | 165 | 2 | 5 | 58 | 19 | 234 |
| Year 11 | 0 | 1 | 185 | 3 | 1 | 45 | 22 | 243 |
| Year 12 | 1 | 3 | 158 | 2 | 4 | 37 | 22 | 213 |
| Year 13+ | 1 | 0 | 187 | 3 | 4 | 35 | 34 | 255 |
| Total | 6 | 8 | 1551 | 17 | 25 | 261 | 127 | 1908 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 05 | 0 | 0 | 40 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 1 | 45 |
| Age 06 | 0 | 0 | 38 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 3 | 45 |
| Age 07 | 0 | 0 | 40 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 43 |
| Age 08 | 0 | 0 | 60 | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 66 |
| Age 09 | 0 | 1 | 47 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 51 |
| Age 10 | 0 | 0 | 70 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 4 | 77 |
| Age 11 | 2 | 2 | 156 | 3 | 4 | 17 | 4 | 179 |
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 202 | 1 | 3 | 23 | 8 | 229 |
| Age 13 | 1 | 0 | 203 | 1 | 0 | 27 | 5 | 229 |
| Age 14 | 1 | 1 | 170 | 2 | 5 | 60 | 20 | 241 |
| Age 15 | 0 | 1 | 182 | 3 | 1 | 43 | 22 | 239 |
| Age 16 | 1 | 3 | 160 | 2 | 4 | 36 | 22 | 214 |
| Age 17 | 1 | 0 | 154 | 3 | 3 | 30 | 24 | 208 |
| Age 18 | 0 | 0 | 28 | 0 | 1 | 5 | 8 | 40 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Total | 6 | 8 | 1551 | 17 | 25 | 261 | 127 | 1908 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
98.5%
| ACG Parnell College | 98.5% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 91.4% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 96.8% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 99.1% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 98.7% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 97.3% |
| Total | 98.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
94.4%
| ACG Parnell College | 94.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 92.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 95.7% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 95.5% |
| MELAA | 80% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 91.9% |
| Total | 94.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
94.4%
| ACG Parnell College | 94.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 71.7% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 88.7% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 92.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 95.7% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 95.5% |
| MELAA | 80% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 91.9% |
| Total | 94.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
0%
| ACG Parnell College | 0% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 16% |
| Private: Fully Reg. | 12.1% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 0% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 0% |
| MELAA | 0% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 0% |
| Total | 0% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
96.4%
| Private: Fully Reg. | 95% |
|---|---|
| ACG Parnell College | 96.4% |
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Composite (Year 1-15) | 86.6% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 97.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 95.7% |
| Māori | Too few to report |
| Pacific | Too few to report |
| Asian | 96.1% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Too few to report |
| European/Pākehā | 100% |
| Total | 96.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- not applicable
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 8 February 1998
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 3
- Last reviewed
- 31 October 2024
- Latest report
- Private School Review Report
- Report type
- Review report
- Board assurance
- not reported
What this report states about the school
As stated in ERO’s report of 31 October 2024 — not necessarily the position now. Each line quotes the sentence it came from.
- International students
- true
At the time of this review there were 113 international students attending the school.
- true
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1963 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
August 2019
984
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 November 2019
June 2014
750
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 18 August 2014
We draw no line between these. Each was counted for its own report, years apart, by a different review team, and a roll moves between reviews for reasons none of these figures record — so the difference between any two of them measures nothing.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 31 October 2024 — “Private School Review Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Introduction
ERO reviews of private schools are significantly different in process and more limited in scope and reporting than those for state and state-integrated schools, focusing as they do on the Criteria for Registration set out in clauses 2 to 6, Schedule 7 of the Education and Training Act 2020.
Clause 9, Schedule 7 of the Education and Training Act requires the Education Review Office (ERO) to review private schools and to report to the Secretary for Education on whether each school meets the criteria for registration.
More information about ERO reviews of private schools can be found on ERO’s website Private and independent schools | Education Review Office (ero.govt.nz)
The criteria for registration are that the school —
has premises that are suitable, as described in clause 3, Schedule 7; and
usually provides tuition for 9 or more students who are of or over the age of 5 years but are under the age of 16 years [clause 2(b), Schedule 7); and
has staffing that is suitable to the age range and level of its students, the curriculum taught at the school, and the size of the school (clause 2(c), Schedule 7; and
has equipment that is suitable for the curriculum being delivered or to be delivered at the school (clause 2(d) Schedule 7); and
has a curriculum for teaching, learning, and assessment and makes details of the curriculum and its programme for delivery available for parents; and
has suitable tuition standards, as described in clauses 2(e),(f) and 5, Schedule 7; and
has managers who are fit and proper persons (as described in clause 6, Schedule 7) to be managers of a private school; and
is a physically and emotionally safe place for students (clause 2(h), Schedule 7).
When an ERO report identifies an area within the criteria for registration that is not meeting the criteria at the time of the ERO review, that will be reported, the Ministry will be informed and the Ministry will follow up the issue with the school.
a) The school has premises that are suitable as described in clause 3, Schedule 7
Meeting
b) The school usually provides tuition for 9 or more students who are of or over the age of 5 years but are under the age of 16 years
Meeting
c) The school has staffing that is suitable to the age range and level of its students, the curriculum taught at the school, and the size of the school
Meeting
d) The school has equipment that is suitable for the curriculum being delivered or to be delivered at the school
Meeting
e) The school has a curriculum for teaching, learning, and assessment and makes details of the curriculum and its programme for delivery available for parents
Meeting
f) The school has suitable tuition standards as described in clauses 2(e), (f) and 5, Schedule 7
Meeting
g) The school has managers who are fit and proper persons (as described in clause 6, Schedule 7)
Meeting
h) The school is a physically and emotionally safe place for students
A safe place is one in which risks to student safety are regularly assessed and evaluated with a view to eliminating, or at least reducing, harm. A safe place is one where clear policies exist and are acted upon to eliminate or minimise harm.
ERO’s judgement is based on the quality, intent and regular review of the school’s policies and procedures.
The school has regularly reviewed policies and procedures to provide for a physically and emotionally safe place for students.
Conclusion
On the basis of the information obtained during the review, ERO considers that ACG Parnell College meets the criteria for registration as a private school set out in clauses 2 to 6, Schedule 7 of the Education and Training Act 2020.
Provision for international students
The school is a signatory provider to the Education (Pastoral Care of Tertiary and International Learners) Code of Practice 2021 established under section 534 of the Education and Training Act 2020. The school has attested that it complies with all aspects of the Code and has completed an annual self-review of its implementation of the Code.
At the time of this review there were 113 international students attending the school.
ACG Parnell has effective processes for annual self-review and the provision of pastoral care for international students. The school provides a welcoming, inclusive environment and students are well-supported to participate in a range of activities and integrate into the school’s community. Thorough processes are in place to monitor and support international students’ wellbeing and academic progress.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
31 October 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 3 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).