Ashburton College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 1,391
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- 27 Walnut Avenue, Allenton, Ashburton
- Territorial authority
- Ashburton District
- Phone
- 03-3084193
- info@ashcoll.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Canterbury
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
Ashburton College students are expected to wear the correct school uniform.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
We warmly welcome international students to Ashburton College.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- rugby
Students can choose from a wide range of sports, from popular team codes like rugby, netball, basketball and football, to individual and adventure sports such as rowing, cycling, shooting, triathlon and more.
- netball
Students can choose from a wide range of sports, from popular team codes like rugby, netball, basketball and football, to individual and adventure sports such as rowing, cycling, shooting, triathlon and more.
- basketball
Students can choose from a wide range of sports, from popular team codes like rugby, netball, basketball and football, to individual and adventure sports such as rowing, cycling, shooting, triathlon and more.
- football
Students can choose from a wide range of sports, from popular team codes like rugby, netball, basketball and football, to individual and adventure sports such as rowing, cycling, shooting, triathlon and more.
- rowing
Students can choose from a wide range of sports, from popular team codes like rugby, netball, basketball and football, to individual and adventure sports such as rowing, cycling, shooting, triathlon and more.
- cycling
Students can choose from a wide range of sports, from popular team codes like rugby, netball, basketball and football, to individual and adventure sports such as rowing, cycling, shooting, triathlon and more.
- shooting
Students can choose from a wide range of sports, from popular team codes like rugby, netball, basketball and football, to individual and adventure sports such as rowing, cycling, shooting, triathlon and more.
- triathlon
Students can choose from a wide range of sports, from popular team codes like rugby, netball, basketball and football, to individual and adventure sports such as rowing, cycling, shooting, triathlon and more.
- rugby
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 918
- Māori
- 223
- Pacific
- 215
- Asian
- 262
- MELAA
- 23
- Other
- 11
- International
- 11
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 51 | 45 | 63 | 6 | 0 | 208 | 1 | 317 |
| Year 10 | 54 | 50 | 63 | 3 | 3 | 205 | 0 | 313 |
| Year 11 | 43 | 47 | 49 | 2 | 2 | 195 | 1 | 283 |
| Year 12 | 38 | 36 | 57 | 1 | 1 | 162 | 1 | 254 |
| Year 13+ | 25 | 17 | 47 | 5 | 0 | 129 | 1 | 191 |
| Total | 211 | 195 | 279 | 17 | 6 | 899 | 4 | 1358 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Age 13 | 38 | 25 | 37 | 3 | 0 | 147 | 1 | 209 |
| Age 14 | 58 | 54 | 61 | 6 | 1 | 211 | 0 | 325 |
| Age 15 | 41 | 49 | 48 | 2 | 3 | 201 | 1 | 294 |
| Age 16 | 40 | 34 | 46 | 1 | 2 | 177 | 1 | 248 |
| Age 17 | 24 | 26 | 48 | 3 | 0 | 127 | 1 | 202 |
| Age 18 | 9 | 7 | 29 | 2 | 0 | 33 | 0 | 68 |
| Age 19+ | 1 | 0 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 9 |
| Total | 211 | 195 | 279 | 17 | 6 | 899 | 4 | 1358 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
86.6%
| Ashburton College | 86.6% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 87.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 90.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 82.3% |
| Māori | 82.1% |
| Pacific | 69% |
| Asian | 83.9% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 90.3% |
| Total | 86.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
77.5%
| Ashburton College | 77.5% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 79.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 82.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 71% |
| Māori | 76.9% |
| Pacific | 65.5% |
| Asian | 73.2% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 80.5% |
| Total | 77.5% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
48.9%
| Ashburton College | 48.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 59% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 57.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 37.9% |
| Māori | 33.3% |
| Pacific | 48.3% |
| Asian | 53.6% |
| MELAA | 60% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 49.2% |
| Total | 48.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
9.4%
| Ashburton College | 9.4% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 13.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 9.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 9.7% |
| Māori | 5.1% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 5.4% |
| MELAA | 20% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 11.3% |
| Total | 9.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
80.4%
| Ashburton College | 80.4% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 83.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 86.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 73.4% |
| Māori | 82.1% |
| Pacific | 69% |
| Asian | 96.4% |
| MELAA | 100% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 76.9% |
| Total | 80.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.9%
| Ashburton College | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 38.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0% |
|---|---|
| Male | 2% |
| Māori | 0% |
| Pacific | 0% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.3% |
| Total | 0.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
1.9%
| Ashburton College | 1.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 3.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0.7% |
|---|---|
| Male | 3.2% |
| Māori | 2.2% |
| Pacific | 2.6% |
| Asian | 2.4% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 1.6% |
| Total | 1.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
0.9%
| Ashburton College | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Canterbury Region | 1.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 0.9% |
|---|---|
| Male | 1% |
| Māori | 2.6% |
| Pacific | 3% |
| Asian | 0% |
| Other | 0% |
| European/Pākehā | 0.7% |
| Total | 0.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 467
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- All students taught in English/other setting
- Urban / rural
- Medium urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1965
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 18 March 2024
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (18 March 2024)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The same report — the board assurance report of 18 March 2024 — also sets out actions for compliance: the non-compliance ERO identified during that process. This is that section of the report in full, in ERO’s words.
ERO has identified the following area of non-compliance during the board assurance process:
the school needs to check a primary identity document and a secondary identity document, required for safety checking of workforce [Children’s Act 2014].
The board has since taken steps to address the area of non-compliance identified.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 1391 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
September 2018
1117
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 29 October 2018
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 18 March 2024 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 19 months of the Education Review Office and Ashburton College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website. www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Ashburton College is a large co-educational secondary school located in Mid Canterbury. It provides education for students in years 9 to 13. The college’s values are Quality | Te Ata Pai, Pride | Manawa Whakahīhī , and Respect | Whakaute . Its vision is that learners will be engaged in learning for life, collaborative, connected and creative. The vision is used to inform the development of learning programmes.
Ashburton College ’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are to:
raise student achievement through being future-focused, culturally responsive, learner-centred, challenging, opportunity-rich, and meeting the diverse needs of all ākonga
accelerate progress for identified priority learners, including Māori and Pacific students.
A copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan can be requested from Ashburton College .
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate the impact of programmes and initiatives targeting the achievement and engagement of year 11 and 12 Māori students who need this.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is the school has:
identified the need to continue to accelerate the achievement of Māori
committed to embedding bi-culturalism and acknowledgment of Te Tiriti o Waitangi principles across its programmes and operations.
The school expects to see improved achievement and engagement outcomes for Māori , tracking towards equity with the overall cohort.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support the school in its goal to evaluate the impact of programmes and supports targeting the achievement and engagement of year 11 and 12 Māori students who need this:
a strategic plan for Māori achievement has been developed, in consultation with Māori , and is informing initiatives
a cross-curricular programme, based on the principles of culturally responsive pedagogies through a te ao Māori lens, was introduced in 2021 and provides a platform for development into the senior school
targeted year 11 programmes, introduced in 2022, are contributing to lifting achievement for Māori
the majority of teachers have increased their capabilities in te reo Māori, tikanga Māori and biculturalism through formalised professional learning.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
increasing consultation and engagement with whānau Māori and mana whenua to inform decision-making and measure progress
embedding bicultural partnerships in the school’s culture, environment, leadership, and learning
strategically evaluating data to measure the impact of programmes and initiatives towards improving equity and excellence for Māori .
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Shelley Booysen Director of Schools
18 March 2024
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).