Avondale College
Secondary (Year 9-15) · State
- Year levels
- 9–13
- Total roll
- 2,792
- Enrolment zone
- Yes
- Gender
- Co-Educational
Where is it, and how do I get in touch?
- Address
- Victor Street, Avondale, Auckland
- Territorial authority
- Whau Local Board Area
- Phone
- 09-8287024
- admin@avcol.school.nz
- Website
- http://www.avcol.school.nz
- Directions
- Get directions
Other schools nearby: schools in Auckland
Can my child go here?
This school has an enrolment scheme, so a place is not open to every address. How enrolment zones work
Loading zone map…
Zone boundaries shown here are approximate. Ministry of Education data warns these boundaries do not have high spatial precision and can place neighbouring addresses on different sides of a line. This is not a confirmation of enrolment eligibility — always confirm directly with the school. Zone geometry also does not reflect enrolment priority rules (siblings, special character categories, ballots) — it shows the mapped boundary only.
Check if your address is in zone →
Source: Ministry of Education, CC BY 3.0 NZ
What would the day look like?
The practical things this school states on its own website — the hours, the uniform, the term dates, and how children get there. These are the school’s own words, not the Ministry’s record and not ERO’s.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- Uniform
- Required
We expect our uniform to be worn correctly, and for students to maintain a high standard of dress and appearance at all times, including when travelling to and from the College.
- Required
What does the school say about itself?
Quoted, not summarised. Every school describes itself well, so this is here to be read as the school’s own case rather than as a finding — and a school that states nothing simply has no row.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- International students
- Accepted, as stated
Listen to some of our international students talk about what it is like to study at Avondale College.
- Accepted, as stated
What is on offer beyond the classroom?
The sports, arts, clubs and groups this school names on its own website. Not a complete list of what any school offers, and not a count — a school that names more here has written more down, which is not the same as doing more.
Quoted from this school’s own website, as we read it on 13 August 2026. A web page carries no date of its own, so that is the day we read it — not a statement that any of this is still the case. Each line quotes the words it came from.
- On offer
- Drama
Four Academy strands are offered at Year 9 and Year 10 level: Drama, Dance, Music - Jazz and Music - Classical.
- Dance
Four Academy strands are offered at Year 9 and Year 10 level: Drama, Dance, Music - Jazz and Music - Classical.
- Music - Jazz
Four Academy strands are offered at Year 9 and Year 10 level: Drama, Dance, Music - Jazz and Music - Classical.
- Music - Classical
Four Academy strands are offered at Year 9 and Year 10 level: Drama, Dance, Music - Jazz and Music - Classical.
- Athletics
- Badminton
- Basketball
- Cricket
- Cross Country
- Football (Soccer)
- Hockey
- Kilikiti
- Lacrosse
- League
- Netball
- Olympic Weightlifting
- Orienteering
- Rock Climbing
- Rugby
- Skiing
- Snowboarding
- Softball
- Squash
- Swimming
- Table tennis
- Tag
- Tennis
- Touch
- Triathalon
- Ultimate Frisbee
- Underwater Hockey
- Volleyball
- Water Polo
- Drama
Who goes here?
Ethnicity breakdown of the total roll, shown as context. Not ranked, and not compared against any average.
- European
- 775
- Māori
- 319
- Pacific
- 737
- Asian
- 1,178
- MELAA
- 309
- Other
- 20
- International
- 116
Roll by year level and age
Shown as context, not ranked, not compared to any average. As at 30 June 2026, from the same annual return as the roll count above.
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Year 09 | 79 | 171 | 180 | 62 | 0 | 134 | 1 | 495 |
| Year 10 | 70 | 197 | 227 | 61 | 0 | 180 | 4 | 580 |
| Year 11 | 82 | 155 | 224 | 73 | 1 | 183 | 14 | 599 |
| Year 12 | 51 | 144 | 244 | 51 | 0 | 141 | 43 | 578 |
| Year 13+ | 39 | 122 | 253 | 42 | 0 | 117 | 34 | 533 |
| Total | 321 | 789 | 1128 | 289 | 1 | 755 | 96 | 2785 |
| Māori | Pacific | Asian | MELAA | Other | European/ Pākehā | International students | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Age 13 | 70 | 142 | 157 | 48 | 0 | 124 | 0 | 421 |
| Age 14 | 62 | 189 | 211 | 63 | 0 | 157 | 3 | 545 |
| Age 15 | 87 | 171 | 211 | 65 | 1 | 184 | 12 | 585 |
| Age 16 | 57 | 139 | 233 | 52 | 0 | 153 | 26 | 556 |
| Age 17 | 42 | 131 | 237 | 43 | 0 | 118 | 38 | 535 |
| Age 18 | 3 | 16 | 67 | 15 | 0 | 17 | 14 | 123 |
| Age 19+ | 0 | 1 | 12 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 3 | 18 |
| Total | 321 | 789 | 1128 | 289 | 1 | 755 | 96 | 2785 |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0
Academic results
Percentage with NCEA level 1 or above — 2025
91.1%
| Avondale College | 91.1% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 90.1% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 88% |
| State: Not integrated | 83.6% |
| New Zealand | 85.2% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 91.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 90.8% |
| Māori | 87.5% |
| Pacific | 90.5% |
| Asian | 92.2% |
| MELAA | 78.8% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 93.6% |
| Total | 91.1% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 1 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 2 or above — 2025
85.3%
| Avondale College | 85.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 85.3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 81% |
| State: Not integrated | 75.4% |
| New Zealand | 77.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 86.8% |
|---|---|
| Male | 83.9% |
| Māori | 76.8% |
| Pacific | 79.7% |
| Asian | 87.7% |
| MELAA | 75% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 90.7% |
| Total | 85.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 2 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with NCEA level 3 or above — 2025
71.3%
| Avondale College | 71.3% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 71.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 61.8% |
| State: Not integrated | 55.2% |
| New Zealand | 59% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 76.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 66.4% |
| Māori | 51.8% |
| Pacific | 56.3% |
| Asian | 80.6% |
| MELAA | 59.6% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 72.9% |
| Total | 71.3% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison NCEA level 3 data (2023-2025)
Percentage with VP Award — 2025
15%
| Avondale College | 15% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 14.6% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 15.2% |
| State: Not integrated | 14.4% |
| New Zealand | 14.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 16.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 13.7% |
| Māori | 12.5% |
| Pacific | 12.7% |
| Asian | 14.9% |
| MELAA | 5.8% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 22.1% |
| Total | 15% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison Vocational Pathway data (2023-2025)
Retention
Percentage staying until at least 17th birthday — 2025
91.6%
| Avondale College | 91.6% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 88.9% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 83.5% |
| State: Not integrated | 81.4% |
| New Zealand | 83% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 94.3% |
|---|---|
| Male | 89% |
| Māori | 73.2% |
| Pacific | 86.1% |
| Asian | 95.9% |
| MELAA | 92.3% |
| Other | Not applicable |
| European/Pākehā | 87.1% |
| Total | 91.6% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison trend data (2023-2025)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
— 2024
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 1: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education one year after leaving school (2022-2024 leaver cohorts)
— 2023
not reported
| Female | not reported |
|---|---|
| Male | not reported |
| Māori | not reported |
| Pacific | not reported |
| Asian | not reported |
| MELAA | not reported |
| Other | not reported |
| European/Pākehā | not reported |
| Total | not reported |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: School leavers enrolled in tertiary education two years after leaving school (2021-2023 leaver cohorts)
Student engagement
Age-standardised stand-down rate per 1,000 students — 2024
41.9%
| Avondale College | 41.9% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 29.7% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 35.8% |
| State | 40.2% |
| New Zealand | 37.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 19.2% |
|---|---|
| Male | 65.3% |
| Māori | 62.4% |
| Pacific | 68.8% |
| Asian | 21.9% |
| Other | 50.5% |
| European/Pākehā | 33.7% |
| Total | 41.9% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison stand-down rates data (2024)
Age-standardised suspension rate per 1,000 students — 2024
3.4%
| Avondale College | 3.4% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 3% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 4% |
| State | 4.5% |
| New Zealand | 4.1% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.1% |
|---|---|
| Male | 5.8% |
| Māori | 4.4% |
| Pacific | 8.5% |
| Asian | 1.5% |
| Other | 2% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.5% |
| Total | 3.4% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison suspension rates data (2024)
Age-standardised exclusion rate per 1,000 students — 2024
2.8%
| Avondale College | 2.8% |
|---|---|
| Auckland Region | 1.4% |
| Secondary (Year 9-15) | 1.7% |
| State | 1.9% |
| New Zealand | 1.8% |
Trend and demographic breakdown
| Female | 1.4% |
|---|---|
| Male | 4.3% |
| Māori | 3.4% |
| Pacific | 7.5% |
| Asian | 0.6% |
| Other | 2.4% |
| European/Pākehā | 2.9% |
| Total | 2.8% |
Source: Education Counts, Ministry of Education, CC BY 4.0 — Table 2: Comparison exclusion data (2024)
About the school
- Equity Index (EQI)
- 439
- Boarding
- No
- Language of instruction
- Some students taught in a Pacific language
- Urban / rural
- Major urban area
- Date opened
- 31 January 1945
The Equity Index is used by the Ministry to allocate equity funding. It describes the socio-economic barriers a school’s students face, not how good the school is. How the Equity Index works
What did ERO find?
The Education Review Office reviews every school and publishes what it finds in full. We quote ERO’s report here, section by section, in ERO’s own words and order, and link to it. We do not summarise a report, pick a line out of one, or turn one into a score. How ERO reviews schools
- Reports ERO holds
- 4
- Last reviewed
- 11 April 2023
- Latest report
- Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report
- Report type
- Profile report
- Board assurance
- The board attested to all areas (11 April 2023)
A board assurance statement is the board’s own account of whether it took all reasonable steps to meet its legal obligations, on the date shown. It is not ERO’s finding. ERO reports separately, in the same report, on any non-compliance it identified during that process.
The board assurance report of 11 April 2023 carries no actions-for-compliance section — the section ERO uses when it names non-compliance it identified. That is what this report contains; it is not ERO saying it found none. Other reports ERO holds for this school may say something different.
The roll ERO recorded, and when
ERO writes a roll into each report it publishes: a count taken for that report, on the day shown, by the review team that was there. The Ministry of Education’s current roll for this school is 2792 — the figure at the top of this page, and the one to use for how big the school is now. These are a different measurement by a different body, so they will rarely agree, and a difference between them is not a change in the school.
October 2014
2484
Counted while ERO’s review team was at the school. Education Review Office, report of 21 January 2015
This is one count taken for one report. It says what the roll was on that day, and nothing about how the roll has moved.
What ERO wrote in its latest report
This is ERO’s report of 11 April 2023 — “Te Ara Huarau | School Profile Report” — section by section, under ERO’s own headings, in ERO’s own order. Nothing is summarised, shortened or reordered.
Background
This Profile Report was written within 18 months of the Education Review Office and Avondale College working in Te Ara Huarau , an improvement evaluation approach used in most English Medium State and State Integrated Schools. For more information about Te Ara Huarau see ERO’s website www.ero.govt.nz
Context
Avondale College is a large secondary school located in the rohe of Te Kawerau ā Maki in central-west Auckland and provides education for students from Years 9 to 13.
The diverse community that the school serves is reflected in the makeup of the school population. The school promotes their values of honesty, endeavour, atawhai , respect and tenacity throughout the curriculum.
A new principal was appointed in 2020 and an associate principal role was established in 2021.
Avondale College’s strategic priorities for improving outcomes for learners are:
sustaining evaluative practices for school improvement for excellence and equity
embedding culturally responsive teaching and learning strategies that promote students’ engagement in learning and develop their wellbeing
a commitment to promoting Māori and Pacific success.
You can find a copy of the school’s strategic and annual plan on Avondale College’s website.
ERO and the school are working together to evaluate how well the provision of effective teaching and a responsive curriculum contribute to enabling all students to achieve success and equitable outcomes for all.
The rationale for selecting this evaluation is to:
respond to the school’s goal of promoting excellence and equity for all students
empower students to achieve their aspirations and to determine their success.
The school expects to see effective teaching and learning strategies that promote student engagement in learning and the provision of high-quality learning opportunities through a responsive curriculum to ensure success for all.
Strengths
The school can draw from the following strengths to support its evaluation of how well effective teaching and a responsive curriculum contribute to enabling all students to achieve success and equitable outcomes:
a school culture that promotes high levels of student success
the provision of broad career pathways in the curriculum
strong systems and processes to support students’ wellbeing
teachers' commitment to professional learning to advance their teaching strategies
established evaluative processes for reflection and school improvement.
Where to next?
Moving forward, the school will prioritise:
ongoing development of teachers’ effective teaching and learning practices to enhance students’ engagement in learning, wellbeing, and success
innovative curriculum design, which is increasingly responsive, meaningful, and accessible.
ERO’s role will be to support the school in its evaluation for improvement cycle to improve outcomes for all learners. ERO will support the school in reporting their progress to the community. The next public report on ERO’s website will be a Te Ara Huarau | School Evaluation Report and is due within three years.
Filivaifale Jason Swann Director Review and Improvement Services (Northern) Northern Region | Te Tai Raki
11 April 2023
About the School
The Education Counts website provides further information about the school’s student population, student engagement and student achievement. educationcounts.govt.nz/home
Avondale College has an on-site Early Childhood Centre, which is governed by the School Board. This school owns and manages the Taurewa Camp for outdoor education near National Park.
Read the full report on ero.govt.nz →
All 4 reports ERO holds for this school
ERO reviews a school every few years — around four years between reviews is the usual cycle — so an older date here reflects where a school sits in that cycle, not how it is doing.
Source: Education Review Office, CC BY 4.0.
Roll date: 30 June 2026 (2026).